Local News



Students Awarded Healthcare Scholarships

AUGUST 25TH 2016 BY DEE LOFLIN

Students Awarded Healthcare Scholarships

Cape Girardeau, Missouri - Saint Francis Healthcare System Foundation and the Saint Francis Auxiliary awarded healthcare scholarships to 23 local students on August 5. Each student received \$1,250 in scholarships toward a degree in a healthcare-related profession.

The Saint Francis Healthcare Scholarship Program was created in 1980. Saint Francis Foundation and the Saint Francis Auxiliary fund the program. Since its inception, the program has provided more than \$579,000 in education scholarships to college students in an effort to encourage participation in professional healthcare careers. Scholarship recipients must have completed at least one year in an accredited healthcare program and be currently enrolled, maintain a minimum of 3.0 GPA and complete the application and essay requirements by the scheduled deadline. They must also reside within the Saint Francis service area, as defined in the application.

The 2016 Saint Francis Healthcare Scholarship Program Recipients are:
Abigail Breite, Cape Girardeau – Bernadean Campbell Memorial Scholarship
Danielle Childers, Cape Girardeau – Raymond A. and Lillian K. Ritter Scholarship
Angela Dickinson, Zalma – Edythe M. Davis Scholarship
Alexis Engelhart, Jackson – Raymond A. and Lillian K. Ritter Scholarship
Joshua Friess, Jackson – Bess Estes Healthcare Scholarship
Jenna Hawkins, Portageville – Evalyn and S. David Nunley Scholarship
Rachel Hearnes, Charleston – Joseph and Harriette Hunter McCrate Scholarship
Morgan Hileman, Cape Girardeau – Christen Joyel Aufdenberg Memorial Scholarship

Abigail Kenney, Cape Girardeau – Susan E. Hinkebein Memorial Scholarship
Cody Likens, Cape Girardeau – Carrie Suedekum Memorial Scholarship
Brianna Lueders, Cape Girardeau – Mark F. Scully Nursing Scholarship
Anna Miller, Jackson – Huttegger-Scherer Nursing Scholarship
Stephanie Nanney, Whitewater – Sisters of Saint Francis Nursing Scholarship
Ryan O'Rear, Jackson – Saint Francis Auxiliary Physician Honor Scholarship
Sara Pilsner, Cape Girardeau – Ken Hayden Memorial Nursing Scholarship
Olivia Renner, Jackson – Lee George and Katherine Jane Cochran Memorial Scholarship
Shea Scholl, Jackson – Saint Francis Foundation Scholarship
Morgan Schumer, Cape Girardeau – Earl Jr. and Lori Wills Memorial Scholarship
Ethan Seyer, Oak Ridge – Mamie Hall Memorial Scholarship
Emma Steffens, Jackson – Saint Francis Auxiliary Healthcare Scholarship
Dana Thiele, Leopold – Saint Francis Auxiliary 125th Anniversary Scholarship
Katy Weston, Glen Allen – Lucy Ellen Towse Memorial Scholarship
Adam Young, New Madrid – Clara D. Newnam Memorial Scholarship

The members of the 2016 Scholarship Committee include: B.J. Bowman, Nicole Chance, Cheryl Mothes, Lisa Newcomer, Jessica Riley and Debra Schumer.

For more information about the Saint Francis Healthcare Scholarship Program, call 573-331-5790.

Saint Francis Foundation is a not-for-profit, tax-exempt charitable organization that supports Saint Francis Medical Center by strengthening the institution overall and reaffirming its mission of supporting the community and the people it serves. Formally organized in 1976, its mission reflects the Medical Center's priorities through fundraising efforts that support the community. The Foundation sponsors several annual events, including golf tournaments, and philanthropic activities such as annual appeals, memorials, endowment funds, planned giving, grants and major gifts. Through the generosity of the community, staff and volunteers, the Foundation accepts contributions each year to purchase state-of-the-art equipment, provide patient and employee assistance, create new programs that help patients in the region, and improve facilities at the Medical Center.

Saint Francis Foundation and the Saint Francis Medical Center Auxiliary awarded healthcare scholarships to 23 area students on August 5. Each student received \$1,250 in scholarships toward a degree in a healthcare-related profession.

Pictured: Back row, from left: Abigail Breite, Ethan Seyer, Cody Likens, Joshua

Friess and Dana Thiele. Middle row, from left: Angela Dickinson, Rachel Hearnes, Shea Scholl, Alexis Engelhart, Emma Steffens and Brianna Lueders. Front row, from left: Katy Weston, Morgan Hileman, Jenna Hawkins, Olivia Renner, Morgan Schumer, Ryan O'Rear and Sara Pilsner.

LAST UPDATED ON AUGUST 25TH 2016 BY DEE LOFLIN

https://showmetimes.com/Blogpost/v59v/Students-Awarded-Healthcare-Scholarships

Go to post

More from ShowMe Times:

SUBSCRIBE TO "LOCAL NEWS"

ShowMe Gold Sponsors