Sports

TOP

Alan Hedrick Receives Honorary Charles Bland Award

NOVEMBER 20TH 2018 BY DEE LOFLIN

Alan Hedrick Receives Honorary Charles Bland Award

Dexter, Missouri - There is one award that is only given to one Bearcat Football athlete each year. A bronze trophy, similar in appearance to the Heisman Memorial Trophy and that's the Charles Bland Award. It was first awarded in 1994, 25 years ago. This year's award went to the 25th recipient Nate Gargas; however one more trophy was created and given this year to a man who is gives to the community, loves his Bearcats, and was one of the creators of the Bland Award. Mr. Alan Hedrick.

Hedrick was not only instrumental in creating the coveted trophy, but also the Dexter Bearcat Booster Club. He has a passion for football and also his fellow Bearcats! He has been serving the Dexter community and the Dexter schools for a many years through various projects. He is one of those men who enjoys working behind the scenes and not out in the limelight. His compassion and generosity can not be matched. He loves his family, friends, and community.

Here is a little background on the Charles Bland Award. The selected Bearcat must meet very strict criteria in many areas of the scholar-athlete life, including: Scholastic Ability, School Participation & Attendance, Community Involvement, Leadership Qualities, Personal & Team Attitude, and Athletic Performance.

A Bland Award recipient should reflect the qualities that interscholastic sports programs have to offer. In no way should this award be seen as a trophy strictly for athleticism; rather, it is to celebrate the most outstanding, well-rounded student-athlete from the senior class.

The late Charles 'Seed' Bland - the man that the stadium these athletes battled in during their high school careers - was a very active supporter of the Dexter School System for many years. The most amazing gift 'Seed' gave was his pride in the Bearcats, as well as the young people of Dexter High School.

Known only to a few, the late Ruth Bland was the 'athlete of the family' and was a standout for both the DHS basketball and track teams. It has been written that she was 'the best female athlete in Southeast Missouri' during her time.

Together, the Bland family has been there to support Dexter Schools and Bearcat Athletics for over 60 years.

Past Winners of the Bland Award

1994 - Kevin Young

1995 - Jason Comfort

1996 - Kent Essner

1997 - Mike Guethle

1998 - Justin Kelley

1999 - David Howard

2000 - Jason mayer

2001 - Nathan McKay

2002 - Drew Wethington

2003 Marc Thrower

2004 - Derek Clark

2005 - Andrew Stuever

2006 - Drew Pixley

2007 - Eric Windham

2008 - Nick Hessling

2009 - Gary Summers

2010 - Taylor Jarrell

2011 - Tyler Miller

2012 - Ryan Joiner

2013 - Holden Bruce

2014 - Noah Kronk

2015 - Tyler Stevenson

2016 - Jason Jarrell

2017 - Ben Sindle

2018 - Nate Gargas

https://show metimes.com/Blog post/vbkg/Alan-Hedrick-Receives-Honorary-Charles-Bland-Award and the state of the state of

Go to post

More from ShowMe Times:

SUBSCRIBE TO "SPORTS"

ShowMe Gold Sponsors