Sports

TOP

2023-2024 DHS Wrestling Awards Banquet

MARCH 15TH 2024 BY DEE LOFLIN

2023-2024 DHS Wrestling Awards Banquet

The 2023-2024 Dexter High School Wrestling Team held their annual awards banquet. This year they chose Dexter Pizza Company and more than 70 athletes and parents attended. The wrestling team is coached by Cody Boyer and Colton Gibson.

Coach Boyer thanked the district administration for supporting all of the athletic programs at Dexter High School. He also thanked the administration at the high school fro making sure the athletes were taken care of and all those things to help with their traveling since wrestling does have some far away places to go. He also thanked Coach Sneed for running the score tables and announcing at our home matches. Julianna Rivera for always coming and watching the girls matches and to give a helping hand when needed.

"I want to thank the parents for trusting us with your sons and daughters," stated Boyer. "They are a really great group of kids. I see other teams just running around, but our kids were where they were supposed to be at all times. I would like to thank Stephanie and Chris Ordway, April DeBerry, Jessica Gilbreath and Chris Lodi's brother for providing food and drinks for all of our matches"

A special thanks to Kaden Jackson aka Momma K and Rylee Hunt as they traveled with the wrestling team and worked really hared to film and keep score and also to Lexi Gibson for helping as well.

He also thanked Coach Colton Gibson who will be leaving next year. "Thank you for these last two years," Boyer stated. "You have put in so much work on developing these young men and women. We will miss you."

Now here is where Coach Boyer got a little sentimental and teary eyed. He thanked his family, his wife Jordan and his daughters Katie Grace and Clare. "It is very hard being a coach's wife, but she has been amazing!" stated Boyer. "I know that Katie Grace will be disappointed that Kennedy won't be wrestling anymore."

Introduction of wrestlers followed.

Freshman: Jaxon Abridge, Keith Cochran, Daniel Conn Harris, Kayden Hart and Houser Robinson.

Sophomores: Asher Allen, Simon Bruyett, Hayden Conn, Wyatt Hockersmtih, Jodi Lynn, Carson Mullins, and Paxton White.

Junior: Parker King

Seniors: Ryan Young, Kasen Forkum, James DeBerry, Noah Bruyette, Chase Berry, Hayden Cook, Kennedy McCormick and Emily Barrett.

"This was an exciting year for wrestling. We got new locker rooms, some new pullovers and a new wrestling mat," commented Coach Boyer. "Our kids stepped up when needed. Ryan, Karen, Hayden, Wyatt, Carson, Kayden, Lodi and James all bounced around at different weights all year. The beginning of the season we did struggle, but we got better as the year went on. Ryan, Paxton, Kasen and Wyatt pulled off some big wins."

"I would like to recognize our state qualifiers," continued Boyer. "Paxton White, Ryan Young, and Kasen Forkum. The state tournament is one of my favorite times of the year. The ride up, the hotel stays, the food and the adrenaline rush that comes from the tournament is amazing."

Coach Boyer then talked about each individual senior and how he will miss them next year.

Male Letter Winners were Chase Berry, James DeBerry, Kasen Forkum, Hayden Cook, Wyatt Hockersmith, Jodi Lynn, Carson Mullins, Keith Cochran, Ryan Young, Noah Bruyette, Hayden Conn, Kayden Hot, Parker King, and Paxton White.

Female Letter Winners were Emily Barrett and Kennedy McCormick.

First Year Letter Winners were Hayden Cook, Keith Cochran, Hayden Conn, Kayden Hart, Paxton White, and Noah Bruyette.

Dexter High School has three wrestling awards, Most Improved, Most Aggressive and Most Valuable.

Most Improved Award was earned by Wyatt Hockersmith. "This year's most improved was on the brink of having a great year and I believe next year will be his breakout year," commented Boyer. "He will get bigger, stronger, and wiser on the mat. He wrestled where we needed him when we needed him, even if he struggled to get there."

Most Aggressive Award was earned by Ryan Young. "In wrestling you have to be a little bit crazy and mean (laughing). You have to hit the hardest cross faces and you can't be pushed around so easy"

Most Valuable Award was earned by Ryan Young. "Ryan was my demonstration dummy and was helping others all year. He finished with 22 wins."

"When I took over last year, I wanted to get our wrestlers more recognition than they have had in the past. I talked to the school and we are now members of the MWA, the Missouri Wrestling Association and the NWCA, the National Wrestling Coaches Association. With those memberships we can recognize the hard work that wrestlers put into the practice room, the mat and in the classroom," stated Boyer.

"I am excited to announce that for the first time ever, we have some Character and Leadership All-American and Scholar Classroom All-Americans."

James DeBerry and Ryan Young were awarded the Character and Leadership All-Americans recognition.

James DeBerry, Ryan Young, Noah Bruyette, and Kennedy McCormick were named Scholar All-Americans.

"I have nominated Ryan Young for Academic All-State." Boyer said. "I am waiting to hear back on that. To win this award you have to be a State Qualifier and have a GPA over 3.5." There will be a banquet in Columbia if he is recognized for this award.

LAST UPDATED ON MARCH 15TH 2024 BY DEE LOFLIN

https://showmetimes.com/Blogpost/vjej/20232024-DHS-Wrestling-Awards-Banquet

Go to post



More from ShowMe Times:

SUBSCRIBE TO "SPORTS"

ShowMe Gold Sponsors